Wanted - The Fame Recordings

Compilation album.

Original release:
CD: Ace Records Ltd. / Kent Soul (UK) CDKEND 398 (2013)

  1.   Wanted: Lover (No Experience Necessary) (Fame 1461, 1969)
  2.   You Left The Water Running (2013)
  3.   Take Me Just As I Am (2013)
  4.   I Bit Off More Than I Can Chew (2013)
  5.   Just Like A Woman (2013)
  6.   Bye Bye Blackbird (2013)
  7.   You Get A Lot To Like (Fame 1473, 1971)
  8.   Your Love Lifted Me (2013)
  9.   Oh Baby What You're Doing To Me (2013)
10.   I've Gone Too Far (2013)
11.   Something (Fame 1473, 1971)
12.   I Shall Be Released (2013)
13.   Way Over Yonder (2013)
14.   Stuck On Her (2013)
15.   Jambalaya (Fame 1461, 1969)
That's Alright Mama (2013)

Track 16 is stereo. All the other tracks are mono.
Produced by Rick Hall & staff.
All (2013) are late 60s / early 70s Fame recordings, previously unissued.

Duane Allman is suspected to play on track 16, but this has not been confirmed yet.

From http://www.amazon.co.uk/Wanted-~-The-Fame-Recordings/dp/B00COMKKS4/ :

"James Govan is an exceptional Southern soul vocalist who was highly influenced by Otis Redding. A regular feature on Beale Street today, he has a very sparse discography, until recently limited to a handful of recordings for David Johnson's Broadway Sound and a couple of singles for Fame. During Ace Records trawl of the Fame Records vault they found another 12 tracks to add to his four previously released sides, and Wanted: The Fame Recordings is the definitive document of his time at the Muscle Shoals studio. Featuring two different periods of the Fame Gang with sessions from 1969 and 1972, musicians heard backing James include Clayton Ivey, Freeman Brown, Travis Wammack and Duane Allman. The new songs include a selection written for James by George Jackson such as I Bit Off More Than I Can Chew , and You Get A Lot To Like . His covers of Dylan s I Shall Be Released and Just Like A Woman are fascinating and compelling. The booklet includes many previously unseen colour photos of James at work in Fame Studios as well as an in-depth note by Southern soul expert Martin Goggins."

But in the liner notes of the CD Duane is not mentioned.

On March 22, 2014 Scott Cantor spoke with David Hood (in the 1960's studio bassist for FAME and also co-founder of the Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section and Muscle Shoals Sound Studio) and Jimmy Johnson (in the 1960's studio guitarist and sound engineer for Rick Hall's FAME Studio in Muscle Shoals, AL. and in 1969 co-founder of the Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section and Muscle Shoals Sound Studio). They believe it is Eddie Hinton on track 16 and not Duane Allman, although they are not 100% sure.

(Thanks to Scott Cantor for this information)